Tuesday, January 5, 2016

TUESDAY'S TIP ~ Legacy 8 ~ How To Determine When You Last Modified a Record

A quick tip for today.

I was researching a particular line of my family, that I’d not looked at in quite a while.  I don’t have any general or research notes on this person, so I wondered when I had last looked at her. 

Here’s how to find out.

From the Family View – click in the very lower right hand corner, in the blank area, next to the M:1.

 (CLICK ON ANY IMAGE TO ENLARGE IT)


















This is the screen you will see next.




















Now I know that I have not looked at this ancestor since I entered her into my database on 1 Aug 2011.

HERE'S ADDITIONAL INFORMATION I RECEIVED AFTER I POSTED THIS - If you are reviewing a person in your database, but you haven't made any changes, if you click "save" it will change the modified date.  If you click "cancel" the modified date will remain the same.  I have a habit of clicking save every time I view anyone's record, but I think I will change that habit after learning this.  Sometimes, I'm just taking a look and I don't want the modified date to indicate changes were made.
 
It’s always kind of surprising when I see how long a time passes until I get back to a particular ancestor.  And, surprisingly, I don’t have a particularly large database, just 4796 people.  And, I research almost daily.

That your tip for today.

Happy hunting,
Michigan Girl

Copyright ©  2010-2016   Diane Gould Hall
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.  NO USE WITHOUT PERMISSION

6 comments:

  1. HOORAY! I am in the process of learning Legacy and it also tells you whether the person was added manually/imported etc. I love this tip, THANK YOU!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow! What a cool tip. Thanks Diane!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad to hear it Jana. Sometimes it's those little tips we learn that are so helpful.

      Delete
  3. People should note this guidance from Legacy:

    On any input or edit screen, clicking Save updates the Modified Date entry even if no change has been made to the information. To avoid this update if no change has been made to the information, use Close or Cancel to exit the window.

    I'm also not sure what triggers the Imported label because I get that even for people who have been manually entered.
    - Jim

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jim,
      Thanks for the tip. I didn't know that and I will add it to my post. That's important info if all you're doing is looking at someone and not making changes. My habit it to always use "save" just to be safe. The imported label seems to be ok for me, for the ones I've checked.
      Thanks for your comment.

      Delete

I look forward to reading your comments. If you have any connection to the people mentioned in this blog, please let me know. I write about mine and my husband's ancestors and would welcome new information or meeting a new cousin or two. Thanks for visiting and come back soon.